Home Instruction

Beginning Home Instruction

STEP 1: Review the available options and determine which option describes your method of providing home instruction.
 
Option

Description of Option

1

The parent designated to provide instruction holds a high school diploma or higher. A high school equivalency certificate is not acceptable.

2

The parent designated to provide instruction meets the qualifications for a teacher as prescribed by the Virginia Board of Education.

3

The parent designated to provide instruction provides a program of study or curriculum which may be delivered through a correspondence course or distance learning program or any other manner. This option includes virtual classes.

4

The parent designated to provide instruction provides evidence that the parent is able to provide an adequate education for the child through a detailed letter to the Superintendent's designee.

 
STEP 2: Research, select and/or acquire your curriculum. BCPS does not provide curriculum materials.
 
STEP 3: If you selected option 3, enroll your child in the distance learning program, correspondence school, or virtual school/class. Request curriculum information and a letter confirming enrollment. If a letter is not issued, a paid invoice is also acceptable.

STEP 4: Complete your Notice of Intent (NOI) and return it with all of the supporting documents to Botetourt County Public Schools Home Instruction. The NOI can be returned via fax, mail, or returned in person to the Botetourt County Public Schools Central Office (143 Poor Farm Road Fincastle, VA  24090) 

Code of Virginia 

As reference in §22.1-254.1 of the Code of Virginia, I have provided a description of the curriculum limited to a list of subjects to be studied during the coming school year, and evidence of having met one of the above criteria. This Notice is due by August 15 each year. If I begin home instruction after the school year has started, I will submit this Notice of Intent immediately and comply with other requirements within 30 days of the Notice to the school division. 

I understand that by August 1 following this school year, I must provide evidence of education achievement as required by §22.1-254.1 of the Code of Virginia, which defines the requirements for home instruction. I also understand that if the required evidence of progress is not provided, Virginia law provides for a one-year probationary period. The parent will be required to file a remediation plan and evidence of the ability to provide an adequate education for the child. 

Link to Virginia Department of Education information about Homeschooling for Families: http://www.doe.virginia.gov/families/private_home/index.shtml

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Advanced Placement (AP) and Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT) examinations are accessible to students receiving home instruction pursuant to Va. Code § 22.1-254.1.

Preliminary SAT (PSAT)
Testing Date: October 16, 2019
Fee: $20
Payment Deadline: September 13, 2019
All payments must be made to the school where the exam is administered.

Advanced Placement (AP) Testing Dates

May 4 - US Government and Politics
May 5 - Calculus AB
May 6 - English Literature and Composition
May 7 - Chemistry (LBHS Only)
May 8 - US History
May 11 - Biology (LBHS Only) / Environmental Science (LBHS Only)
May 12 - Psychology (LBHS Only)
May 13 - English Language and Composition
May 15 - French Language and Culture (LBHS Only) / Statistics (LBHS Only)

Fee: $94 per exam
Payment Deposit of $15 per exam due: November 1, 2019
Payment Balance of $79 per exam due: February 3, 2020
All payments must be made to the school where the exam is administered.

Students should create an account at CollegeBoard and register for the AP tests they would like to take by October 1, 2019.

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2020 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.